High School Seniors - you must apply and be admitted by October 15 for full scholarship consideration. Submit your free application today!

Celebrating 80 Years of Educating Leaders

November 10, 2017
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Reception 6:30 p.m. (Alumni reception 6 p.m.)
Dinner 7:30 p.m.

courage to venture gala 2017

At the Marian University Courage to Venture Gala, more than 2,000 of Indianapolis and surrounding area leaders, new friends and long-time supporters of Marian University, and alumni and students will come together to celebrate Marian University’s 80th anniversary and the legacy of the Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg, Indiana.

All proceeds from the Marian University Courage to Venture Gala go to support Marian University scholarships or designated area.

Come celebrate with us

  • 25th Annual Mary McNulty Young '47 Opportunities for Excellence Scholarship Dinner
  • Dillon Family Distinguished Alumni Dinner
  • Marian University's 80th Anniversary


Parking is available at the JW Marriott Indianapolis, Washington Street Garage, or White River State Park Garage. Please allow yourself extra time for parking and to account for Friday rush hour traffic. 


After dinner and the program, the dance floor will open and the The Impalas will hit the stage! Guests are encouraged to enjoy dancing, drinks, and light snacks.


Meet your emcee for the evening, Gerry Dick

gerry-dickThe host and creator of Inside INdiana Business television, Gerry Dick serves as president and managing editor of Grow INdiana Media Ventures, LLC, an Indianapolis-based media company focused on producing and distributing Indiana business news and information through multiple media channels. Gerry and technology entrepreneur Scott Jones form Grow Indiana Media Ventures' ownership team.

Today, more people get their Indiana business news from Inside INdiana Business than from any other source. You can watch his television show on 15 Indiana network and public stations, listen to daily radio reports on 27 statewide stations and get your news on-demand from a collection of email, web and mobile business news products.

inside-indiana-business-w-gerry-dickGerry has been awarded the state's top honor, the Sagamore of the Wabash, three times, by Governors Kernan, Daniels and Pence.  He has been awarded Ernst and Young's prestigious Entrepreneur of the Year Award and recognized by the Small Business Administration as its Journalist of the Year. Inside INdiana Business with Gerry Dick has received an EMMY three times for best interview/discussion program/series or special.

Gerry is a frequent keynote speaker and moderator on issues related to Indiana business and the state's economy and also serves as a business news analyst for WTHR-TV (NBC) and 93.1-FM - WIBC radio in Indianapolis.

Gala honorees

  • mike and sue smith
    Mike and Sue Smith
    Franciscan Values Award
  • jim hallet
    Jim Hallett
    John A. Purdie Innovator and Mentor of the Year Award
  • joe and diane zimmerman
    Joe '80 and Diane (Pitzer) '81 Zimmerman
    Dillon Family Distinguished Alumni Award

Hotel room rates

Discounted room rates available at the JW Marriott Indianapolis.

Guests may apply the discount for the nights of November 9, 10, and 11, 2017. Standard king or queen is $196 plus tax.  The deadline to reserve a room with the discounted rate is October 13, 2017.

Book online or by calling reservations
Toll free: (866) 704-6162, or
Reservations local phone: (877) 303-0104

Sponsorship levels


  • Recognition on the marian.edu/gala website
  • Social media recognition
  • Recognition in printed event program and on digital sponsorship display
  • One table of 10 at the gala with preferred table placement

GOLD SPONSOR - $25,000

  • Recognition in printed event program and on digital sponsorship display
  • Social media recognition
  • One table of 10 at the gala


  • Recognition in printed event program and on digital sponsorship display
  • One table of 10 at the gala


  • Recognition in printed event program
  • One table of 10 at the gala


  • Two seats at the gala


  • Sponsor a Marian University student to attend the gala

Presented by

St. Vincent

Reception sponsor


Diamond Dignitaries Sponsors

Michael and Bea Becher
Edward and Peggy Bonach
Earl '74 and Annette Brinker
Michael G. Browning/Browning Investments
John '63 and Phyllis Cardis
Stephen J. and Jill Hackman
David '71 and Anne Haire
Philip '81 and Teresa Houser '80 Carson
David and Judith Pille '65 Castaldi
John and Norma Commorato
Ted and Kim Dickman
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph T. Doyle
Gregg and Patareka Dwyer '66
William '74 and Teresa Eckman
Daniel and Elizabeth Elsener
Fritz and Shele French
Daniel M. Gelfman
John Giles '72
Eugene and Helene Herber '53 Henn
Jim and Jerilyn '87 Huntington
Nancy Morales '76 and Daniel Krodel
Christopher and Julie LaMothe
John and Sarah Lechleiter
Alan '62 and Sue Leighton
Paul '73 and Debbie Norman
Robert and Diana Phillips
John '74 and Edie Purcell
John and Pam Purdie
Jerry and Rosemary Semler
Jack and Jennifer Snyder
Leonard '68 and Susan Smith '68 Strom
Glenn '71 and Laura Jo Biltz '71 Tebbe
Merle '74 and Susan Schnepp '73 Tebbe
John and Laura Tebbe '04
George '70 and Sharon Walker
D. Anthony '69 and Carole Kunkel '65 Watt
Charles '68 and Mary Leahy '68 Welch
Ken and Victoria Yamasaki
John '71 and Kathy Bailey '74 Yanney
Raul and Deborah Zavaleta
Browning Consolidated, LLC
Sisters of Saint Francis
St. Vincent Indianapolis
The TAB Group
Witham Health Services
Anonymous donor

For more information

Andrea Grube
(317) 955-6137



Get info Apply now

© 2017 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the selection of administrative personnel, faculty and staff, and students.
*Placement rates are gathered from data collected from graduates within six months of graduation.