Teresa Lubbers honored with the 2023 Innovator and Mentor of the Year Award by Marian University

by News Release | Nov 06, 2023

Teresa Lubbers, President of the Sagamore Institute, was honored by Marian University at its 2023 gala with its 2023 John A. Purdie Innovator and Mentor of the Year Award.

As President of the Sagamore Institute, an Indianapolis-based think tank, Lubbers is focused on minimizing income disparity and international security threats while maximizing opportunity and talent in the Midwest.

Lubbers is dedicated to bolstering Indiana’s educational and political systems. Before the Sagamore Institute, Lubbers was the Indiana Commissioner of Higher Education for 11 years. She also spent 17 years in the Indiana State Senate, serving as Chair of the Senate Education and Career Development Committee. Lubbers has also been a high school English teacher, started a public relations firm, and worked in various other political roles. 

Lubbers is an active community leader, serving the YMCA of Greater Indianapolis, the YMCA Foundation, and Tabernacle Presbyterian Church, and is a co-founder of the Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series. 

Almost 2,000 students, alums, faculty, staff, and community leaders attended the 2023 Marian University Gala, which raised more than $2.5 million for the university’s student scholarships.

News Media Contact

Brad R. Wucher
Vice President of Enrollment, Marketing Communications
(317) 955-6307
Stokley Mansion, Room #1

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

Search for it.