Marian University Provost Awards Faculty and Staff for Service in Support of Academic Excellence

by Glendal Jones | Oct 25, 2022

Four Marian University faculty and staff have been named recipients of the Provost’s Recognition Award for Service in Support of Academic Excellence. This award recognizes the outstanding effort faculty and staff contribute every day in support of students, programs, colleges, schools, and universities.  Provost Alan J. Silva, Ph.D., Marian's executive vice president, and the chief academic officer said without this dedication from our faculty and staff, academic excellence would not be possible. "The outstanding work of all the nominees made this a tough decision, Dr. Silva said.  We are truly blessed to be surrounded by faculty and staff who care deeply about our student's success."  The four 2022 award recipients and nominees are: 

Tara Fox, DNP, CPNP  "Dr. Tara Fox is a committed Marian educator as well as a skilled nurse practitioner,  Silva commented.  Over the past year she has gone above and beyond her duties as a faculty member to keep the Family Nurse Practitioner Program running during a time of lean leadership and transition."

Holly Gastineau-Grimes, Ph.DDr. Holly Gastineau-Grimes has demonstrated a remarkably high level of dedication to the needs of our students and through the programming needs of the university, Silva said. She continuously is flexible with her time and talents to best fit our student's needs and her attitude and perspective help navigate the organizational and relational process required to complete this type of work, especially at a high level."

Brian Skinner, PharmD, BCPS. "One of Dr. Skinner's greatest gifts that he gives to the Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine is his excellence in the classroom, Dr. Silva stressed." "Many of the approaches Dr. Skinner employed in his course have since become best practice for other course directors and one of the most impactful areas that Dr. Skinner contributes is his board preparation series for our students as they gear up for boards. One of the students commented, "Thank you for your outstanding encouragement and care for us as we work through questions. Thank you for showing up to learn together and for creating an environment where it is okay to fail and there is still a success at the end of the dark tunnel of Boards."

Hanna Varys, B.S. Hanna is focused on serving students 100% of the time,  Dr. Silva added. Since she started working at Marian, she has made every effort to put students at the center of all decisions made.  She treats all students with care and compassion, and while some student-focused outcomes are not always the desired solution for the student, the decision is made to help them grow and learn as they interact and work with professional staff."

The 2022 Nominees included:

  • Erica Ausel
  • Rachel Brown
  • Colleen Doci
  • Amanda Egan
  • Adrianna Ernstberger
  • Joseph Gamache
  • Jeff Hannah
  • Cody Hardwick
  • Julia Hum
  • Kathy Marra
  • Lesley Neff
  • Lori Rumreich
  • Alex Tamerius
  • Sumathilatha Sakthi Velavan

    Congratulations to all for their outstanding work while demonstrating the Franciscan sponsorship values to our students!

News Media Contact

Brad R. Wucher
Vice President of Enrollment, Marketing Communications
(317) 955-6307
Stokley Mansion, Room #1

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

Search for it.