Second Annual Gold Humanism Honor Society Induction

by Sarah Olvey, MU-COM GHHS Chapter Secretary | May 01, 2017

Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine adds new members to national organization

On Thursday, April 20, 2017, Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine inducted twenty three 3rd year medical students along with four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS), an Arnold P. Gold Foundation program that recognizes students and faculty who emphasize humanism, compassion, and patient-centered care. 

Students are nominated for this honor by their peers, and subsequently chosen by a GHHS selection committee based on an essay competition. Faculty inductees are nominated by students involved with GHHS or in MU-COM’s Meaningful Medicine Mentoring Program, designed for fostering relationships that encourage humanism in medicine. 

In addition to the inductions, one student and one faculty member were awarded The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation. These recipients are chosen based on the “I.E. CARES” criteria – Integrity, Excellence, Compassion, Altruism, Respect, Empathy, Service. This year, Allison Pressimone (fourth year osteopathic medical student) and Dr. William Cooke received this honor. 

For this upcoming year, the society’s chapter at Marian has co-presidents, who are very excited about the year ahead of them. “It is an incredible honor to join the ranks of outstandingly empathetic physicians and trainees who serve as role models to all medical students,” student co-president Saajidha Rizvydeen stated. “As a president of a relatively new GHHS chapter, I am excited about the opportunity to establish new avenues through which our members can engage in service and practice compassion within our larger community.”

Ada Yu, student co-president, added, “I am honored to be a member of MU-COM’s chapter, and even more thrilled for the opportunity to lead a group who has pledged to dedicate themselves to patients and families to provide optimal, compassionate care. Together we can serve as mentors, leaders, and role models in patient-centered medicine.” 

Following the induction ceremony, Dr. Anne Brooks, SNJM, DO lead an inspiring talk revolving around Christian leadership in medicine. At a young age, Dr. Brooks became wheelchair bound due to rheumatoid arthritis. However, she had the opportunity later in life to learn about osteopathic medicine and the tenants of the practice, and with that she learned to regain the use of her legs. This experience as a patient inspired her to switch careers and enter the field of medicine. She now serves as an osteopathic physician in Mississippi at the Tutwiler Medical Clinic, a clinic that provides medical services to all patients in the area regardless of their ability to pay.

“It’s an incredible honor to be invited by God to enter another person’s life and accompany them on their journey to wholeness,” she stated. As she continued to speak on compassion and what humanistic care means, she said, “Compassion requires us to be weak with the weak, and powerless with the powerless. We cannot be afraid to cry with them, to hug them. We need to be fully immersed in human nature.” 

The values Dr. Brooks holds in her practice aligns perfectly with the mission of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.  The entire evening revolved around patient-centered medicine and showing true dedication to the care others receive, and concluding it with the words of Dr. Brooks was an excellent way to send the new GHHS members forward into their careers. 

Class of 2017 inductees:

Joseph Aleshaki

Chioma Allen

Jonathan Arthur

Adam Cassella

Katharyn Cassella

Chad Curtis

Cassandra Dishman

Dewitt Harrison

Patrick Heckman

Anneliese Huntzinger

Gretchen Johnson

Brandon Leighton

Sarah Olvey

Paige Patterson

Saajidha Rizvydeen

Kate Sawicki

Calvin Streeter

Daniel Thompson

Rebecca Tracy

Nevin Vijayaraghavan

Elisabeth Vreede

Savahanna Lien Wagner

Ada Yu


Faculty inductees:

*Dr. William Cooke, MD

Dr. Richard Schuster, DO

Dr. DeoVrat Singh, MD

Dr. Angela Wagner, DO



* Recipient of The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation



Special thanks to Dr. Emily Young and Kirsten Fitz OMS4 for all of their help with MU-COM’s GHHS Chapter and the Induction Ceremony. 

News Media Contact

Brad R. Wucher
Vice President of Enrollment, Marketing Communications
(317) 955-6307
Stokley Mansion, Room #1

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

Search for it.