Bishop Simon Bruté Scholarship

The Bishop Simon Bruté Scholarship is awarded to students who maintain residence in the Bishop Simon Bruté College Seminary. The award amount varies.

The Bishop Simon Bruté College Seminary was established by the Archdiocese of Indianapolis in August 2004 to prepare college seminarians for major seminary. The seminary program is named in honor of Bishop Simon Bruté, who served as the first bishop of the Diocese of Vincennes, which included the entire state of Indiana and the eastern half of Illinois.  Bishop Bruté, a physician prior to his ordination to the priesthood and a theology professor and college president following ordination, was revered by early American Church leaders for his holiness and his vast knowledge of theology.  He served as spiritual director to Elizabeth Ann Seton, the first American-born saint.  Bishop Bruté’s cause for Sainthood has been opened by the Archdiocese of Indianapolis.

For additional information on the Bishop Simon Bruté Scholarship, please contact:

Father Joseph B. Moriarty,
Rector, Bishop Simon Bruté College Seminary,
2500 Cold Spring Road, Indianapolis, IN 46222.

Meeting people through student government
Getting involved in student government helped Oluwabanwo Adeniyi '21 feel like she’s part of the campus community.
Watch Bami's story
Building relationships with faculty and coaches
After he explored his college options, Conor Smith '20 decided to choose Marian because of his interest in athletics and exercise science.
Read Conor's story
Following her dream to be a dentist
After graduating cum laude with Marian's Class of 2017, Chrislyn (Church) Fite is well on her way.
Read Chrislyn's story

© 2017 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the selection of administrative personnel, faculty and staff, and students.
*Placement rates are gathered from data collected from graduates within six months of graduation.