Cycling Team Takes 14th National Title at the Major Taylor Velodrome

by John Armitage | Nov 27, 2012
Marian University's unprecedented dominance of collegiate cycling continues.
Marian University won the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships in the coveted Division 1 team omnium on September 25, 2010, at the Major Taylor Velodrome in Indianapolis. The win is the team's 14th national championship in cycling: 13 are on the track and one is the 2010 road national championship.     With six individual and team national titles, and a total of 18 total podium appearances over the three days, Marian University garnered 1013 points to take the team prize in Division I ahead of second-ranked Midwestern State University (779 points). Fort Lewis College (630), Penn State (559), and Indiana University (535) were third, fourth, and fifth in the Division 1 omnium. In Division II, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) riders accumulated 604 points in Indianapolis to claim the podium's top step ahead of second place DePauw University with 502 points. The United States Military Academy (312), Cumberland University (260), and Kutztown University (188) rounded out the final three spots on the D II omnium podium. In addition to the team awards, one male and one female rode home with the overall individual omnium titles. Eric Young (Indiana University) claimed the top prize ahead of Marian University'sAdam Leibovitz while Jennifer Purcell (Midwestern State) beat out Marian University'sKaitlin Antonneau for the victory in the women's contest. The omniums were awarded at the conclusion of the final three competitions: the men's team pursuit, women's sprint, and men's points race. In the final team event of the national championships, Marian University again dominated the velodrome, taking the win in the men's team pursuit over the Colorado-based Fort Lewis College squad. The foursome ofRobert Bush,Adam Leibovitz,Alex Wieseler, andDavid Williams clocked a time of 3:30.539 compared to the 3:42.847 posted by Fort Lewis riders Dana Alia, Ryan Cleveland, Ben Stalker, and Cody Stephenson. The women's sprint saw Jennifer Purcell (Midwestern State University) ride into a Star-and-Stripes jersey when she beat out Melissa Erickson (Fort Lewis College) in the gold medal round. Purcell added this success to the criterium national title she won at road nationals earlier this year. Winning the race for bronze was Claire Routledge (Midwestern State) with a victory over Stephanie Torres (Bard High School Early College) while Rita Klofta (DePauw University) won the race for the podium's final spot. In the men's points race, five men lapped the field to gain a decisive 20 extra points. Despite several attempts, no one could do the same in the second half of the race. Sprint after sprint, Eric Young (Indiana University) attacked and inched his way ahead of Oscar Clark (Georgia State University) before winning the final sprint even though he was already leading by 15 points. Marian University'sDavid Williams collected the bronze medal. Marian University riderRobert Bush and MIT's Michael Garrett rounded out the podium in fourth and fifth respectively. Get all the final results atUSA Cycling’s web site.

News Media Contact

Mark Apple
Vice President of Marketing Communications
(317) 955-6775


Get info Apply now

© 2017 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the selection of administrative personnel, faculty and staff, and students.
*Placement rates are gathered from data collected from graduates within six months of graduation.