Indiana Academy of Science Talent Search and Fall Luncheon

2015 Talent Search Finalists

The Indiana Academy of Science (IAS) is pleased to invite outstanding high school scientists entering their junior or senior year to enter the Indiana Academy of Science Talent Search, a competition aimed at identifying students with the potential to become creative scientists, engineers, and mathematicians. The Indiana Academy of Science Talent Search is sponsored and funded by the IAS Youth Activities Committee. The 2016 Talent Search will take place on September 16-17, 2016 at Marian University, with papers due to the Director, Lynn Thomas, by May 1, 2016. The announcement and entry files can be downloaded from the links below. Please note that these dates have changed!

The IAS Talent Search Committee, a group of scientists and mathematicians representing colleges and universities in Indiana will perform initial screening of applicants’ research papers to identify the state finalists. The Director will notify finalists of their selection in late August. Twelve finalists and their teacher-sponsors will be guests of the IAS Talent Search Committee at the IAS Talent Search Honors Weekend at Marian University on a Friday and Saturday in September.

The IAS Talent Search Committee will choose winners on the basis of (a) personal interviews with the Committee on Friday afternoon and (b) reviews and explanations of their science project displays on Saturday morning. Awards will be announced at the Honors Luncheon at noon on Saturday.

Note: Only individual projects will be considered, and all displays must meet IAS display requirements (projects must not exceed a height of 9-ft from the floor, a width of 4-ft, or a depth of 2.5-ft; poster displays will not be accepted). Student finalists and their teacher-sponsors must be present on both Friday and Saturday in order to complete for awards. Teacher-sponsors must be members of the Indiana Academy of Science.

2015 Results

Ten of the 12 selected researchers participated in the finals, held September 11th and 12th at the Marian University Evans Center for Health Science. Pictured above [L-R] are Amir Sankari, Eman Schools; Alexis Thornburg, Marian High School; Katie Dyer, John Adams High School, Asmaa Mahoui, Eman Schools; Tingue (Rita) Cui, Terre Haute Vigo South High School; Alicia Poirle, John Adams High School; Nirupama Devanathan, Homestead High School; and Joshua Isaacson, John Adams High School. Not pictured: Kamna Gupta, Carmel High School; and Colin Lofy, John Adams High School. Selected finalists Aidan Reilly and Anna Santiaguel were unable to attend. The judges selected these finalists from a field of twenty-three papers submitted in May.

Alicia Porile was selected as the Female First Place winner for her project entitled “Possible Effects of Altered “g” Forces on the Behavior and Regeneration of Planarian Flatworms”, while Joshua Isaacson’s “The Classification of Basal Cell Carcinoma from Benign Tumors Using Promising Machine Learning Models” earned him selection as the Male First Place winner. They will receive a trip to the American Association for the Advancement of Science meeting in February and a one-year membership in the AAAS as part of their prize award. The judges also selected as winners: Alexis Thornburg, “Effect of Cisplatin on Gene Expression Over Time in Lung Cancer Cells”; Rita Cui, “Torsional Potential Energy Surfaces of Ethane and Butane: Origin of the Rotation Barriers”; Asmaa Mahoui, “Effects of Treatment of Reduced Glutathione on Budding Rates and Feeding Rates in Hydra littoralis “ and Katie Dyer, “The Efficacy of Various Redox Mediators in Improving the Longevity and Power Output of a Membrane-less, Enzymatic, Glucose-Oxygen Physiological Fuel Cell.”

DSCN8021 DSCN8023 DSCN8022 DSCN8023

Turn a page, start a new chapter...#MakeItMarian

Get info Apply now

© 2016 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the recruiting and selection of students for admission.