dcsimg Student Organizations
---------------------

Student Organizations

American College of Osteopathic Pediatricians

This organization is still forming. Please check back later for more details.

Cody Owens – cowens989@marian.edu
Dr. Dan Williams, Advisor – dwilliams@marian.edu

American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA)

AMWA is committed to banding women in medicine together to help one another navigate the medical field. The American Medical Women's Association empowers women to lead in improving health for all within a model that reflects the unique perspective of women.

Sonya Zarkhin, President – szarkhin@marian.edu
Dr. Lisa Chun, Advisor – lchun@marian.edu
Dr. Melita Schuster, Advisor – mschuster@marian.edu

Cardiology Club

This organization is still forming. Please check back later for more details.

Emma Hegwood – ehegwood459@marian.edu
Dr. Richard Klabunde, Advisor – rklabunde@marian.edu 

Christian Medical Association (CMA)

CMA strives to be a Christian-based group open to people of all backgrounds and beliefs. It is our mission to glorify God through the promotion of the Franciscan values of peace, reconciliation, stewardship, and dignity of the individual. We obediently commit to the Great Commandment and support one another prayerfully and relationally as we grow as physicians.

Andres Nuñez II , President – anunez651@marian.edu
Dr. Richard Klabunde, Advisor – rklabunde@marian.edu

Family Medicine Club (SAACOFP)

The Family Medicine Club works to encourage student interest in the field of Family Medicine. We also strive to get involved in the community and provide health education to the community. We hope to inform students about Family Medicine residency and careers.

Greta Braun, Co-President – gfoley822@marian.edu
Michael Fitzgerald, Co-President – mfitzgerald426@marian.edu
Dr. Melita Schuster, Advisor – mschuster@marian.edu

Infectious Disease Medicine

The intention of this group is to create interest in the medical field of infectious disease, cultivate discussion about the significant effect these diseases have on the world, and look at how advances in medicine are changing the impact the diseases have on local villages, entire countries, and the world. Not only is the group an educational opportunity, but also a fun and creative environment for playing games and reading and discussing relevant books and research articles. Another facet of this group is to hear about ID medicine from physicians practicing in this specialty and find opportunities to shadow ID physicians in the community.

Zach Messina, President – zmessina983@marian.edu
Dr. David Raskin, Advisor – draskin@marian.edu
Dr. Samina Akbar, Advisor – sakbar@marian.edu

Indiana Osteopathic Association - Student Chapter

Rachel Gahagen, Secretary – rgahagen914@marian.edu
Erin Wernert, Advisor - ewernert@inosteo.org

Jewish Medical Association

The MU-COM Jewish Medical Association is a community of students and faculty dedicated to enriching the Jewish experience at Marian University. We aim to enhance campus life and culture through social programming and speaker events.

Haley Volk, President – hvolk815@marian.edu
Dr. Pierre Atlas, Advisor – patlas@marian.edu

Marian University Emergency Medicine Club

The Emergency Medicine Club provides students who are interested in emergency medicine the opportunity to learn about the field through clinical experience and exposure. Students will also meet with guest lecturers who will share their perspectives as healthcare professionals. This club is geared toward nursing and medical students.

Michael Siap, COM President – msiap769@marian.edu
Rachel Thomas, School of Nursing President – rthomas101@marian.edu
Dr. Ben Huang, Advisor – bhuang@marian.edu

Military Medicine Club

NG, Reserve, and HPSP students already have military commitments. This club will assist you in making the transition from civilian to military life. We hope to pursue paintball, combatives, camping, and presentations from current and former military members. The club may expand based on interests.

Brandon Koser, President–
bkoser749@marian.edu
Dr. Patrick Woodman, Advisor – pwoodman@marian.edu

MU-COM Mentors Club

MU-COM Mentors will act as a bridge between pre-medical students and medical school. The club will be in communication with students through email or panels to provide guidance to students as they start their medical careers.

Tom Sublett, President –
tsublett444@marian.edu
Dr. Allison Chatterjee, Advisor – achatterjee@marian.edu                            

MU-COM OB/GYN Club

The MUCOM OB/GYN Club exists to encourage and support interest in the field of OB/GYN medicine through community outreach and workshops on campus.

Kelly Prindle, President –
kprindle162@marian.edu
Dr. Patrick Woodman, Advisor – pwoodman@marian.edu

MU-COM Research Club

The mission of the MU-COM Research club is to generate interest, facilitate education, provide opportunities, and enhance the knowledge in clinical and biomedical research for MU-COM students.

Emma Hegwood, President –
ehegwood459@marian.edu
Dr. Charles Henley, Advisor – chenley@marian.edu
Dr. Bryan Larsen, Advisor – blarsen@marian.edu

MUCOM Student Government Association (SGA)

The MUCOM Student Government Association exists to serve as the voice of the MUCOM student body to the university administration and faculty as well as to external and community groups. The SGA allocates funding to student organizations from the student activity fee, organizes social and community service activities, addresses student concerns with the MUCOM Dean’s office, and lobbies for policies and services that meet the needs of MUCOM students.

Maureen McAteer, President –
mmcateer626@marian.edu
Clint Whitson, Advisor – cwhitson@marian.edu

Muslim Student Association

The purpose is to introduce Marian University students to the basics of Islamic culture and tradition in regards to working in a medical environment by bringing in guest medical professionals as speakers.  The goal is to help students understand the concepts behind the beliefs so that they can better treat their patients and to provide a more comfortable environment using a holistic approach when encountering people of different faith.  This organization will also reach out to other faith based organizations to collaborate and promote interfaith dialogue and will be an outlet for Muslim students to connect on campus, as well as bringing in the entire community to share in the celebrations and traditions of being a Muslim.

Abbas Rizvi, President–
arizvi@marian.edu
Dr. David Williams, Advisor – dcwilliams@marian.edu

Oncology Club

The purpose of our organization is to increase each student’s understanding of the field of oncology by providing them with beneficial learning experiences.

Brian Kaltenecker, President –
bkaltenecker784@marian.edu
Dr. David Strom, Advisor – dstrom@marian.edu

Preventative Health and Wellness Club

Our purpose is to bring a greater understanding of personal health and awareness to the community. We will promote health and wellness education through various activities including, but are not limited to, community partnerships, not-for-profit kids camps, educational seminars, guest speakers, public health announcements, newsletters and campus events.

Jenna Schultheis, President –
jschultheis066@marian.edu
Dr. Michael La Fontaine, Advisor –
mlafontaine@marian.edu
Dr. Melita Schuster, Advisor – mschuster@marian.edu

Significant Others Club

The Significant Others Club exists to connect the significant others of our medical students to each other and to the Marian University community. Medical school is a huge time commitment and involves real sacrifice from the significant other. This group is designed to help provide a network of support for individuals who are experiencing similar issues.

Tausha AuBuchon –
taubuchon793@marian.edu
Dr. Amy Williams, Advisor – awilliams@marian.edu

Student American Academy of Osteopathy (SAAO)

SAAO is dedicated to helping students attain a maximum proficiency in Osteopathy structural diagnosis and treatment. We host weekly review sessions, speakers, and workshops to that end.

Julia Melvin-McCann, President –
jmelvinmccann437@marian.edu
Dr. Lisa Chun, Advisor – lchun@marian.edu

Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

SNMA is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent, and social conscious physicians.

Hamilton Harris, President –
hharris030@marian.edu
Julia Ford, Advisor – jford@marian.edu

Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA)

The Student Osteopathic Medicine Association (SOMA) is a student affiliate organization of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). We are your portal to the greater Osteopathic community and the best way to get your voice heard on issues that affect you and your future career. SOMA has much to offer the ambitious osteopathic medical student. From fantastic discounts and membership benefits to virtually limitless leadership opportunities, allowing you to nurture your leadership skills, build life-long bonds with your colleagues from across the US and leave your mark on the Osteopathic profession! We offer various benefits for members such as access to a Clinical Clerkship Database. Here you can access an expansive list of elective rotation sites for 3rd & 4th year, recommended by other SOMA members! This is a student governing body where you can let your voice be heard on your campus and across the country!

Greta Braun –
gfoley822@marian.edu
Dr. Dan Williams, Advisor – dwilliams@marian.edu

Student Osteopathic Surgical Association (SOSA)

SOSA exists to help promote education in the field of surgery, provide a forum for students to discuss with surgeons, stressing the osteopathic principles in relationship to disease in the practice of surgery.

Brady Hansen, President –
bhansen582@marian.edu
Dr. Patrick Woodman, Advisor – pwoodman@marian.edu

Timmy Global Health

The Marian University COM/SoN chapter of Timmy Global Health has two missions. The first being to support the work of Timmy Global Health on a local and global front through fundraising and service while exposing medical and nursing students to issues of global health, health equity/equality and working with medically underserved populations. Through this dual mission, the club strives to participate in eliminating barriers to healthcare access, locally and globally, as well as empower future medical professionals to continue address these issues of health equality throughout their future carriers as leaders and medical providers.

Zach Wright, President –
jwright507@marian.edu
Dr. Tafline Arbor, Advisor – tarbor@marian.edu
Dr. Sherry Jimenez, Advisor – sjimenez@marian.edu

 

© 2012 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the recruiting and selection of students for admission.